HERITAGE & MONUMENTS

The Château

The châteauSign of lordly power section of Carcassonne, the castle was probably built under the influence of Isarn of Aragon (canon and archdeacon), between 1195 and 1236. The original castle, including the role of sentinel at the entrance to the valley of the Clamoux is obvious encompassed within its walls the church of Saint-Etienne and the few houses that had developed around. As a result of the extension of the New Town, the wall was extended and defended by a new tower called the hospital and a postern located at the mouth of Pont-Vieux. The ancient castle, transformed into a private residence, still presents an imposing quadrangular mass, with crenellated curtain, flanked on the northeast corner is a large and strong tower solidly built in cut stones and topped with loopholes.
It was higher and is referred to as the Revolution: Tower of the canons. In the courtyard, formerly court of honor, there is a stylish octagon tower of the Renaissance, containing a large and beautiful stone staircase well preserved. The entrance to the walled staircase door is framed by fine moldings and topped with a crest eroded. The great door of the castle, full hanger is visible in the south, behind the heart of the church. Above the door opens a mullioned Gothic window, finely carved.


The Capellanie

The name of the building is derived from the Occitan "Capelin" meaning chaplain or priest of a place. The Capellanie was in effect until the Revolution, the presbytery. A royal decree of 1695 obliged indeed all municipalities to properly house the priest, his assistant and his whole "house" servants and maids. Originally, the village priest was staying in a house near the church belonging to the canons. When this house too small and uncomfortable, fell into ruin, the city successively rented several houses in the village and in 1742 decided to buy a significant rich, this beautiful private home which contained, in addition to housing the priest and his vicar, a large garden and a horse stable. Still be seen in the Capellanie a magnificent stone staircase with balusters shaped, surrounding a small courtyard where there was a well. The building was sold as national property during the Revolution, and finally bought by the municipality wishing to install a post office.


The Saint Etienne Church

The Saint Etienne ChurchPreviously parish of the diocese of Narbonne, part of the chapter of Carcassonne Cathedral, today part of the diocese of Carcassonne, of the deanery of Caunes. The head of the Church is St Etienne (Saint Stephen in English) the 1st martyr. The church has been enlarged and restored in several eras, most notably from 1750 to 1784 by Mr Vidal, a Carcassonne architect. The nave is formed with a high and wide arch of ogival shape. The gothic style chancel was added in 1824 and the renaissance style porch in 1830, both of which were restored in 1896. The Château has an interesting steeple, square in form and strengthened after the construction of the château. The bells were recast from 1776 to 1780 by Berriat.
The clock was repaired by the clockmaker Balaval in Lavaur in 1782.
The steeple, constructed in the XII century, at the moment when the village community started to free itself from tutelage of the Canons, was originally used as the village belfry. Local council meetings or a meeting of all the village inhabitants under grave circumstances, were convened after a ringing of the bells. The bells were also rung to mark important national events, whose details were also displayed on the church door such as the birth of the eldest son of a King or a military victory …


The Saint Mammès Chapel

The Saint Mammès ChapelRural chapel, located one kilometer west of the village, along the road between Villeneuve Sallèles-Cabardès dedicated to Saint Mammes. This cult is very old place since the first marked on a degree of the king of France, Eudes, dated 30 December 889. Three hundred years later, he received a replica of the Holy and carried that name until today. Plates recognition and votive offerings displayed in the building a few years ago still bear witness to the great reputation that had this chapel today. The building is difficult to date because it has undergone numerous modifications over the ages. The current heart, located opposite of all the churches, and the front of the east entrance were added in 1860. The nave with its arched roof has a mysterious origin.
The chapel was built on unstable ground. Despite numerous restorations in the late 1980s, significant cracks bask the building. In November 1989, the the association "Friends of Saint Mammes" is made. Its purpose is to safeguard the building. General Council, Regional Council, municipality, donors and manual workers volunteers participated in the restoration of the historical and cultural heritage. 17 August is traditionally held to celebrate the Saint. The monument and its beautiful surroundings have a constant maintenance that make it an ideal place for meetings and various events.


Notre Dame de la GrappeNotre Dame de la Grappe

You can find this little chapel at the entry to the village at the junction between the departmental roads 112 and 620, Aygadons crossroads. In the interior is a statue representing a robust yet maternal Virgin who is offering to her son, the infant Jesus, a bunch of Minervois grapes, which he holds in his hand.

In the interior is a statue representing a robust yet maternal Virgin who is offering to her son, the infant Jesus, a bunch of Minervois grapes, which he holds in his hand.

 

 

 


The calvary

In 1854, the inhabitants of Villeneuve-Minervois, threatened by cholera which had devastated neighbouring parishes, prayed that they would be spared by the terrible scourge and expressed their belief in God by the construction of a Calvary. The calvary

Nobody not having died of the contagion, the inhabitants kept their promise and went from door in door, beggar of the cash donations, in kind or in work days. The priests who followed one another starting from 1854 were the project superintendents of work.

Various gifts out of ground made it possible to locate the place which was equipped with a beautiful cast iron cross: that of the Saver, with at his sides, crosses of two robbers and three statues of the virgin, of saint Jean and an angel with trunk. While entering the martyrdom you will discover a splendid stone cross going back to 1696.

 

 


The Cross of the Calvary

The Crosses

:: The Cross of the Calvary

A fine stone cross, which previously dominated the summit of the Calvary, was re-sited after the improvements and the restoration of the old Calvary. It shows the date 1696.


:: The Cross of the Mission

A fine bronze cross which was produced and erected in 1852. It was originally located at the top of the promenade and was relocated in 1884 / 1885 to allow the construction of the fountain.
It is particularly interesting because it displays the symbols of the passion of Christ.


:: The Cross on the Rouanet House

The Cross of the Blabine (The Cross of Saint Mathieu)This cross is very simple. It is embedded in the upper part of the house, on the way of Horts. She does not have any inscription. Like the cross of Blabine, and the cross located on the road of the water tower, it is known as “cross of the Rogations”. Rogations: this word comes from the Latin verb “rogare” which means to require, to request.


:: The Cross of the Blabine (The Cross of Saint Mathieu)

The cross of the Blabine, of a very stripped style high, slim with the square branches, is supported by two massive bases of unequal dimensions posed on a gray stone body. It delimits the old way of Caunes and that of Pujol de Bosc. The cypress which shelters it is used him as guard of honor.


:: The Cross of chemin vieux de Saint-Mammès

This cross is located at the crossing of the road of Sallèles and the old way which leads to the vault Saint-Mammès. A date, 1654, are certainly the date of erection of this cross. Low, a marble plate carrying the date of 1896, could indicate the date of a mission or a commemorative ceremony.


The Cross of St. Job (The Cross of St Peter)

:: The Cross of St. Job (The Cross of St Peter)

On the Route de Carcassonne, at the edge of the Bade pines, it impressively dominates the Baous valley (combe). A lack of inscription or date means it cannot be identified.


:: The Baous Cross

A cross in forged iron. It is situated on the old road between Villeneuve and Villegly. It dominates the wonderful geological Gouffre (chasm) du Baous It is a memorial to an event which took place at the site.


:: The Cross of the Saint-Andrès or Saint-Andrieu

A stone cross erected on a hill. Until the XVI Century a small community lived on this hill until it was pillaged and burnt by the Huguenots. This cross is a symbol of remembrance of the battle.


The War Memorial The War Memorial


Building set up in memory of combatants died for France with the fields of honor. Not less than 38 names are engraved in the marble so that Villeneuvois, faithful to the duty to remember, can be inclined in front of this stele which pays homage to the victims of various wars.


The dolmens

The site of the dolmens, classified with the historic buildings is particularly rich, it exists 3 dolmens:

:: Dolmen of Palet de Roland

Dolmen

The first dolmen which one can admire is the Palet de Roland, dominating the valley minervoise. It is sometimes called dolmen of Jargantière. The legend tells that the stone was worked by Roland, the nephew of Charlemagne. It made use of it then like a metal disc, projecting it until Narbonne. Roland raised the Metal disc on two stones and there desired to be buried not far. The dolmen more probably dates from the 3rd millenium before our era.


 


:: The tomb of Roland or tomb of the giant

The tomb of Roland would be close to his Palet, but the recent studies make it possible to regard this deep bleeding as a marble extraction dating from the 17th century.


:: Dolmen of Roque Traoucado or Roquetrucade

It is the last megalith of the site, dominating the ruins of the smallholding of the same name.
It is probably about a tomb collective dating from the 3rd millenium before our era. Funerary furniture (potteries, bronze and copper bracelets) indeed makes it possible to classify this whole in this kind of monument. The upper part disappeared, letting appear only the entry and the funerary room, discovered.


CapitelleLes Capitelles (Dry Stone Huts)

These huts are entirely constructed of dry stone without either mortar or structural timber according to the principle of a corbelled vault, namely the stones are placed one on top of the other in perfect symmetry, until they form at the summit a vault or head, from which comes the word “capitelle” or in aude Occitan, “lou cabanot”.

These stones are slightly inclined towards the interior to allow rainwater to fall away and therefore ensures the huts are waterproof.


The Capitoul hut has a feature which differentiates it from all other constructions and gives it its originality.


The Mill

The MillIn 1819, one had only two economic energy sources: wind and water.
This mill was built on locality PECH-ROUZAUD to supplement an already existing water mill in Villeneuve-Minervois. It was exploited until 1890 and Pierre OURLIAC was the last miller.

It is probable that no other craftsman then exploited the mill, which fell in decrepitude gradually, undoubtedly the pieces of wood they were recovered for construction, unless a fire entirely destroyed it. In any case, the last vestiges of its past in years 1980 were, in addition to the walls, of the fragments of grinding stones scattered in the heap of rubble which covered the ground of the mill, the whole in the middle of the vines. The meticulous work of Mr. Alibaud gives us all the details of the infrastructure of the mill.

In 2001, Frédéric Bénazeth, young entrepreneur nephew of the last owner, having discovered the history of this mill which was yet only one filled up circular wall of rubble, decides to put his enthusiasm and his passion in the reconstruction of the mill. He chooses to call upon a craftsman specialist in the restoration of the old frames, in order to reconstitute with more close the mechanisms, while keeping with the mill all his seal.


The moat walkThe moat walk

On the boulevard in Villeneuve, there are signs on the wall including a coat of arms which say “Promenade des Fossés” (The moat walk) Whether they are young villagers or tourists, everyone asks the same question:
Why the ancient name “moat” ?

It’s because from the XIV to the XVIII Centuries the village was surrounded by moats. In all ages, men have looked for shelter for their safety, from where the construction of fortresses, and castles by the rich and powerful where they would provide shelter for their possessions, their families and their servants.


The Large FountainThe Large Fountain

Remade with identical in 1989. The fountain is surmounted by a statue representing our national Marianne, symbol of the Republic. Hundred years passed between these two dates.

It is by a vote of the Town council that is conceived the project to bring water to the commune. The project is ambitious for this time. It consists to collect spring water located road of Cabrespine, at the edge of Clamoux and to bring it by a ground pipe to a large distant fountain of approximately a kilometer.

The selected place judicious, but is also dictated by circumstances. The water conveyance being based on the system of gravity, the site of the arrival of water is obviously important.

Large fountain, water will be then distributed towards eight small fountains located in the districts of the village, and two feeding troughs.
 


The Washhouses The Washhouses

A well known meeting place, Villeneuve still has two washhouses.

One is supplied by the overflow of the source of the mill, and managed by the company “Oriental des eaux de la Montagne Noire”.
It supplies the village with drinking water via the Crès water tower.

In the 1950s the second washhouse replaced a “païchèro”, a type of waterhole where the women came to wash, on the large flat stones on the bank of the river.


The Bridge

The Bridges

In the village, two bridges span the River Clamoux. Upstream, “Le Pont Vieux” or The Old Bridge, and downstream “Le Pont des Lavandières” or The Washer Woman’s Bridge.

The Old Bridge was partly reconstructed between 1926 and 1927 at the request of the village.

Le Pont des Lavandières was washed away by the river during flooding during the night of 12th and 13th November 1999. It was completely rebuilt a few years later.

Valid HTML 4.01 TransitionalCSS Valide !

Augmenter la taille de la police.Diminuer la taille de la police.Taille de la police normale.Augmenter les contrastes en inversant les couleurs.Envoyer la référence de ce document à un(e) ami(e).Lancer l'impression en PDFLancer l'impression

PATRIMOINE & MONUMENTS

Le château

Le châteauSigne de la puissance seigneuriale du chapitre de Carcassonne, le château a probablement été bâti sous l'influence d'Isarn d'Aragon, (chanoine et archidiacre), entre 1195 et 1236. Le château primitif, dont le rôle de sentinelle à l'entrée de la vallée de la Clamoux est évident, engloba dans son enceinte l'église Saint-Etienne et les quelques habitations qui s'étaient développées autour. Par la suite de l'extension de la Ville Neuve, le rempart fut prolongé et défendu par une nouvelle tour dite de l'hôpital et une poterne située au débouché du Pont-Vieux. L'ancien château-fort, transformé en habitation particulière, présente encore son imposante masse quadrangulaire, avec des courtines crénelées, flanqué à l'angle nord-est d'une grande et forte tour solidement bâtie en moellons taillés et garnie de meurtrières. Elle était plus élevée et elle est désignée jusqu'à la Révolution comme : tour des chanoines.
Dans la cour intérieure, autrefois cour d'honneur, on remarque une élégante tourelle octogone de la Renaissance, renfermant un large et superbe escalier en pierre bien conservé. La porte d'entrée de l'escalier murée est encadrée de fines moulures et surmontée d'un blason effrité. La grande porte du château, plein cintre, est visible au Sud, derrière le cœur de l'église. Au dessus de la porte s'ouvre une fenêtre gothique, géminée, finement sculptée.


La Capellanie

Le nom de ce bâtiment est dérivé de l'occitan « Capelan » qui désigne le chapelain ou le curé d'un lieu. La Capellanie était en effet jusqu'à la Révolution, le presbytère. Un édit royal de 1695 obligeait en effet toutes les municipalités à loger convenablement le curé, son vicaire et toute sa « maison » serviteurs et servantes. A l'origine, le curé du village était logé dans une maison, proche de l'église et appartenant aux chanoines. Quand cette demeure, trop petite et inconfortable, tomba en ruine, la municipalité loua successivement plusieurs maisons dans le village, puis en 1742 se résolut à acheter à un riche notable, cette magnifique maison particulière qui contenait, outre le logement du prêtre et de son vicaire, un vaste jardin et une écurie. On voit encore, dans la Capellanie, un magnifique escalier de pierre, avec balustres façonnés, entourant une petite cour où se trouvait un puits. Le bâtiment fut vendu comme bien national à la Révolution et, finalement, racheté par la municipalité, désireuse d'y installer un bureau postal.





 


L'église Saint Etienne

L'église Saint EtienneAutrefois paroisse du diocèse de Narbonne, à la collation du chapitre cathédral de Carcassonne, aujourd'hui succursale du diocèse de Carcassonne, du doyenné de Caunes. Le patron de l'église est Saint Etienne, 1er martyr. L'église a été agrandie et restaurée à diverses époques, notamment de 1750 à 1784, par M. Vidal, architecte à Carcassonne. Nef ogivale, haute et large. Le chœur de style gothique et le porche de style renaissance, ont été ajoutés en 1824 pour le chœur, en 1830 pour le porche. Ils furent restaurés en 1896. Clocher intéressant : carré et fortifié postérieur à la construction du château. Les cloches ont été refondues de 1776 à 1780 par Berriat.
L'horloge fut réparée par Balaval horloger à Lavaur en 1782.
Le clocher, construit au XIIe siècle, au moment où la communauté villageoise commençait à s'émanciper de la tutelle des chanoines, servit dès l'origine, de beffroi au village. Ainsi les réunions du conseil municipal ou la réunion de tous les habitants dans de graves circonstances, étaient annoncées « à son des cloches ». Ce sont aussi les cloches qui carillonnaient les événements nationaux qui étaient ensuite affichés à la porte de l'église : naissance d'un dauphin royal, victoires militaires, ...


La chapelle Saint Mammès

Chapelle Saint MammèsChapelle rurale, située à un kilomètre à l'ouest du village, en bordure de la route qui relie Villeneuve à Sallèles-Cabardès, dédiée à Saint Mammès. Ce lieu culte est très ancien puisque la première mention figure sur un diplôme du roi de France, Eudes, en date du 30 décembre 889. Trois cents ans plus tard, il reçut une réplique du Saint et porta ce nom jusqu'à nos jours. Les plaques de reconnaissances et les ex-voto exposés dans l'édifice il y a quelques années encore, témoignent de la grande renommée qu'a eu cette chapelle jusqu'à nos jours. Le bâtiment est difficile à dater car il a subi de multiples remaniements au cours des âges. Le cœur actuel, situé à l'opposé de toutes les églises, et la façade de l'entrée Est ont été ajoutés vers 1860. La nef centrale avec sa voûte en ogive a une origine plus mystérieuse.
La chapelle est construite sur un sol instable. Malgré de multiples restaurations, à la fin des années 1980, des fissures importantes lézardent la bâtisse. En novembre 1989, l'association les « Amis de Saint-Mammès » est constituée. Elle a pour but la sauvegarde de l'édifice. Conseil Général, Conseil Régional, municipalité, donateurs et travailleurs manuels bénévoles ont participé à la restauration de ce patrimoine historique et culturel. Le 17 août est traditionnellement conservé pour la célébration du Saint. Le monument et son magnifique cadre bénéficient d'un entretien permanent qui en font un lieu privilégié de rencontres ou de manifestations diverses.


Chapelle Notre Dame de la GrappeNotre Dame de la Grappe

A l'entrée du village, à l'intersection des routes départementale 112 et 620, carrefour des Aygadons, se trouve une petite chapelle.

A l'intérieur se trouve une statue qui représente une Vierge robuste et maternelle qui offre à son tout petit enfant Jésus, une grappe de raisin du Minervois, qu'il tient dans sa main.

 

 

 


Le calvaire

En 1854, les habitants de Villeneuve-Minervois, menacés du choléra qui sévissait cruellement dans les paroisses environnantes, firent le vœu s'ils étaient épargnés par le terrible fléau, de témoigner leur reconnaissance à Dieu par la construction d'un Calvaire. Le calvaire

Personne n'étant mort de la contagion, les habitants tinrent leur promesse et allèrent de porte en porte, mendiant des dons en argent, en nature ou en journées de travail. Les curés qui se succédèrent à partir de 1854 furent les maîtres d'œuvre des travaux.

Différents dons en terre permirent de situer l'endroit qui fut doté d'une belle croix en fonte : celle du Sauveur, avec à ses côtés, les croix de deux voleurs et trois statues de la vierge, de saint Jean et d'un ange à tronc. En entrant dans le calvaire vous découvrirez une magnifique croix de pierre datant de 1696.


Croix du Calvaire

Les croix

:: Croix du Calvaire

Une très belle croix de pierre qui dominait autrefois le haut du Calvaire a été remise en valeur après les aménagements et le travail de restauration de l'ancien calvaire. Elle porte une date : 1696.


:: Croix de la Mission

Très belle croix de bronze qui a été conçue et érigée en 1852. Elle était primitivement placée en haut de la promenade et elle a été déplacée en 1884/1885 pour permettre la construction de la grande fontaine.
Elle mérite une attention particulière, car en elle sont intégrés les symboles de la passion du Christ.


:: Croix de la maison Rouanet

Croix de la Blabine (Croix de Saint Mathieu)Cette croix est très simple. Elle est encastrée dans la partie supérieure de la maison, sur le chemin des Horts. Elle ne porte aucune inscription. Comme la croix de la Blabine, et la croix située sur la route du château d'eau, elle sont dites « croix des Rogations ». Les Rogations : ce mot vient du verbe latin « rogare » qui signifie demander, prier.


:: Croix de la Blabine (Croix de Saint Mathieu)

La croix de la Blabine, d'un style très dépouillé est haute, élancée aux branches carrées, soutenue par deux socles massifs d'inégales dimensions posées sur un corps de pierre grise. Elle délimite l'ancien chemin de Caunes et celui de Pujol de Bosc. Le cyprès qui l'abrite lui sert de garde d'honneur.


:: Croix du chemin vieux de Saint-Mammès

Cette croix est située au croisement de la route de Sallèles et de l'ancien chemin qui mène à la chapelle Saint-Mammès. Une date, 1654, est certainement la date d'érection de cette croix. Plus bas, une plaque de marbre portant la date de 1896, pourrait indiquer la date d'une mission ou d'une cérémonie commémorative.


Croix de Saint-Job (Croix de Saint Pierre)

:: Croix de Saint-Job (Croix de Saint Pierre)

Route de Carcassonne, à l'orée des pins de la Bade, elle domine l'impressionnante vallée géologique (combe) du Baous. Ni date ni inscription ne permettent de l'identifier.


:: Croix du Baous

Croix en fer forgé. Elle est située sur l'ancienne route de Villeneuve à Villegly. Elle domine le splendide gouffre géologique du Baous. Elle serait signe de reconnaissance d'un événement qui se serait produit en ce lieu.


:: Croix de Saint-Andrès ou de Saint-Andrieu

Croix en pierre érigée sur une colline. Jusqu'au XVIe siècle, une petite communauté habitait sur cette colline qui fut pillée et incendiée les Huguenots. Cette croix serait symbole de la reconnaissance et de mémoire envers cette bataille.


Le monument aux morts Le monument aux morts


Édifice érigé à la mémoire des combattants morts pour la France au champs d'honneur.
Pas moins de 38 noms sont gravés dans le marbre afin que les Villeneuvois, fidèles au devoir de mémoire, puissent s'incliner devant cette stèle qui rend hommage aux victimes de différentes guerres.


 


Les dolmens

Le site des dolmens, classé aux monuments historiques est particulièrement riche, il existe 3 dolmens :

:: Dolmen du Palet de Roland

Dolmen

Le premier dolmen que l'on peut admirer est le Palet de Roland,            dominant la vallée minervoise. Il est parfois dénommé dolmen de la Jargantière. La légende raconte que la pierre a été façonnée par Roland, le neveu de Charlemagne. Il s'en servit alors comme un palet, le projetant jusqu'à Narbonne. Roland éleva le Palet sur deux pierres et voulu y être enterré non loin. Le dolmen date plus vraisemblablement du IIIe millénaire avant notre ère.


 


:: Le tombeau de Roland ou tombeau du géant

La tombe de Roland se trouverait près de son Palet, mais les études récentes permettent de considérer cette profonde saignée comme une extraction de marbre datant du XVIIe siècle.


:: Dolmen de Roque Traoucado ou Roquetrucade

Il est le dernier mégalithe du site, dominant les ruines de la métairie du même nom.
Il s'agit vraisemblablement d'une tombe collective datant du IIIe millénaire avant notre ère. Le mobilier funéraire (poteries, bracelets de cuivre et de bronze) permet en effet de classer cet ensemble dans ce type de monument. La partie supérieure a disparu, ne laissant apparaître que l'entrée et la chambre funéraire, découverte.


Les capitelles

Elles sont construites en pierres sèches et la couverture est sans mortier ni charpente, selon le principe de la voûte en encorbellement : c'est à dire de pierres posées les unes sur les autres avec symétrie parfaite, qui au sommet forment la voûte en casque ou tête d'où le mot actuel « capitelle », ou en occitan audois « lou cabanot ».

Ces pierres légèrement inclinées vers l'extérieur permettent l'écoulement des eaux de pluie et l'étanchéité de la capitelle.


La capitelle de Capitoul a une particularité qui la différencie dans son genre d'où son unicité.


Le Moulin

Le MoulinEn 1819, on ne disposait que de deux sources d’énergie économiques : le vent et l’eau.
Ce moulin a été bâti sur le lieu-dit PECH-ROUZAUD pour compléter un moulin à eau déjà existant à Villeneuve-Minervois. Il a été exploité jusqu'en 1890 et Pierre OURLIAC en fut le dernier meunier.

Il est probable qu'aucun autre artisan n'a ensuite exploité le moulin, qui tomba en décrépitude petit à petit, sans doute les pièces de bois ont elles été récupérées pour la construction, à moins qu'un incendie ne l'ait entièrement détruit. En tout cas, les derniers vestiges de son passé dans les années 1980 étaient, outre les murs, des fragments de meules éparpillés dans le tas de gravats qui couvrait le sol du moulin, le tout au milieu des vignes. Le travail minutieux de M. Alibaud nous donne tous les détails de l’infrastructure du moulin.

En 2001, Frédéric Bénazeth, jeune entrepreneur neveu du dernier propriétaire, ayant découvert l'histoire de ce moulin qui n'était encore qu'un mur circulaire empli de gravats, décide de mettre son enthousiasme et sa passion dans la reconstruction du moulin. Il choisit de faire appel à un artisan spécialiste de la restauration des charpentes anciennes, afin de reconstituer au plus près les mécanismes, tout en gardant au moulin tout son cachet.


La promenade des fossésLa promenade des fossés

Sur le boulevard, les plaques aux armes de Villeneuve qui porte la mention « Promenade des fossés » posent une interrogation aux jeunes Villeneuvois, à l'étranger qui séjourne l'été, aux voyageurs qui descendent des cars pour visiter notre village.
Pourquoi le nom lointain des fossés ?

Un rappel déjà lointain des fossés qui ceinturaient le village du XIV au XVIIIe siècle. De tout temps les hommes ont cherché des abris pour leur sécurité : d'où les constructions de forteresses, de châteaux par les puissants et les riches où ils abritaient leurs biens, leurs familles et leurs serviteurs.


La grande fontaine

Refaite à l'identique en 1989. La fontaine est surmontée d'une statue représentant notre Marianne nationale, symbole de la République. Cent ans ont passé entre ces deux dates.

C'est par un vote du Conseil Municipal qu'est conçu le projet d'amener l'eau à la commune. Le projet est ambitieux pour cette époque. Il consiste à capter l'eau de la source située route de Cabrespine, au bord de la Clamoux et à l'amener par une canalisation enterrée à une grande fontaine distante d'environ un kilomètre.

L'endroit choisi est judicieux, mais dicté aussi par des circonstances. L'adduction d'eau étant basée sur le système de gravité, l'emplacement de l'arrivée des eaux est évidement important.

De la grande fontaine, les eaux seront ensuite réparties vers huit petites fontaines situées dans les quartiers du village, et deux abreuvoirs.
 


Le lavoirLes lavoirs

Lieux de rencontres, d'échange de nouvelles. Villeneuve compte deux lavoirs toujours existants.

Un est alimenté par le trop plein de la source du moulin exploitée par le syndicat Oriental des eaux de la Montagne Noire.
Il alimente notamment le village en eau potable via le château d'eau du Crès.

Le deuxième lavoir a remplacé dans les années 50 une « païchèro », sorte de trou d'eau où les femmes venaient laver, sur les grosses pierres plates de la berge.


Le pont

Les ponts

Dans la traversée du village deux ponts enjambent la rivière la Clamoux. En amont « Le Pont Vieux » et en aval « Le Pont des Lavandières ».

Le Pont Vieux a été en partie reconstruit en 1926-1927 à la demande de la municipalité.

Le Pont des Lavandières a été emporté par la rivière lors des inondations au cours de la nuit du 12 au 13 novembre 1999. Après la pose provisoire, il a été entièrement reconstruit.

Valid HTML 4.01 TransitionalCSS Valide !